Charlotte (NC) Links in the News

Read below for news highlighting our Organization, Chapter, Alumna and Current Chapter Members


Toni Freeman Will Receive the Schley R. Lyons Circle of Excellence Award

Chapter Member Toni Freeman will be honored at this year’s Leadership Charlotte Legacy Awards Breakfast where she will be the recipient of the Schley R. Lyons Circle of Excellence Award!


Donna Y. Dunlap is named one of South Charlotte’s 40 Most Powerful Women

Chapter Member Donna Y. Dunlap is the CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Carolinas. As part of Women’s History Month, she was recently highlighted in The Charlotte Weekly as one of South Charlotte’s 40 Most Powerful Women!


The Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award is presented to the honorable Carla N. Archie

The Mecklenburg County Bar Association presented our dear member The Honorable Carla N. Archie with the prestigious Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award.

In her acceptance speech Judge Archie said, “it’s important to be present in the room particularly as a minority. Our presence speaks volumes. And when and where we enter a room, we make a path for others to enter with us.”

She concluded by challenging the attendees to, “live a life and leave a legacy as impactful as Julius Chambers. That we will open doors and make room for others who are unlike us...and welcome and learn from diverse perspectives.”


The Honorable Yvonne Mims Evans is awarded the order of the Long leaf pine

Congratulations to our dear member, the Honorable Yvonne Mims Evans, retired Mecklenburg County Superior Court Judge in District 26A, on being awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine!


Rickye MCKoy-Mitchell is re-elected to Mecklenburg County, NC District court 26G

Congratulations to Charlotte (NC) member Judge Rickye McKoy-Mitchell on her re-election to Mecklenburg County, NC District Court 26G, Seat 1.

Cherone_Miss WSSU.jpg

Cherone Johnson Is 2018-2019 Miss Alumni of Winston-Salem State university

Congratulations to Chapter Member Cherone Johnson who was recently crowned as this year’s Miss Alumni of Winston-Salem State University!

PageImg-HarperRoddey (2).jpg

ALumna Links honored By the Harvey B. Gantt center

Two of our Alumna Members, Mary T. Harper and Bertha Maxwell-Roddey were honored as Founding Members of the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture. As part of this honor, the building’s main lobby was named the Harper-Roddey Grand Lobby.and August 22nd was declared Harper-Roddey Day. Congratulations to both!

Photo Credit

Daisy R. Walker.jpg

our Chapter President, Dr. Daisy Walker, Honored as Charlotte Post’s Educator of the year

Congratulations to Dr. Daisy Walker! She was honored as the 2017 Charlotte Post Foundation Educator of the Year for over 50 years of promoting excellence in the Charlotte Mecklenburg School system.